Day 11 – Social Media

Today, I am grateful for social media.  But you’re going to have to bear with me and follow several links to appreciate why.  Will you promise to come back here and see me if I send you off on a rabbit trail?  Pretty please?

Okay, so I’ve been reading a blogger named Lisa-Jo Baker for a few months now.  She has a weekly challenge where you are supposed to write for 5 minutes unedited.  It’s been a good jumpstart for my creativity.  She asked other bloggers to be a part of special project that she was going to jumpstart on Valentine’s Day.

The project is to help build a community center in Maubane, South Africa.  Part one, the garden was totally funded within 12 hours.  Part two, the kitchen has been about halfway funded.  Part 5 the playground was totally funded by one brave soul.

To help kick off awareness of part 2, the kitchen, I decided to host a giveaway on my other blog.  This morning, over a week later, I didn’t have any entries.

But that’s okay, because it’s not about me, it’s about the kids.

So I took to the streets of the social media platforms I visit, and I made my case known.  And I’ve been “patrolling” all day.

This afternoon, right before we left for church, I popped onto Twitter.  I noticed that Billy Zane had just posted a tweet, and I took a chance.

And Billy Zane retweeted me.  Not once, but twice!  The link for the fundraiser for the community center got sent to all 12.5k of his followers.

So yeah, today, I’m thankful for social media.  And hopefully, the community center will be built just a tad faster now.

