Little Things

Good morning.
Today’s Made to Crave chapter was about making peace with your body.  But more than that, it was about walking in obedience with God. 
In chapter 5, Lysa wrote the following prayer: “God, I recognize that I am made for more than the vicious cycle of being ruled by food.  I need to eat to live, not live to eat.  So, I keep asking for Your wisdom to know what to eat and Your indwelling power to walk away from things that are not beneficial for me.”  I wrote this on an index card and posted it above my coffee pot. 
This morning, I actually read it.  And I got stuck on that word – beneficial.  Yeah, sure, coffee tastes good, and the caffeine is beneficial to my mood.  But is it really? 
I made the decision to walk away from the coffee.  It’s being obedient in the “little things” that will help us on this journey.  I keep thinking of Luke 16:10 “Whoever can be trusted with very little can also be trusted with much, and whoever is dishonest with very little will also be dishonest with much.”  I choose to be obedient today in not having a cup of coffee.
Have a good day, my friends.  Be blessed.
Hugs,
Melinda
 
 
