Five Minute Friday – Hero

This post is part of Five Minute Fridays where you write for 5 minutes unedited. 

Today’s word is HERO

And GO:

Gilbert Blythe told Anne Shirley to write about what she knows.  I don’t know super heroes and their secret identities.  But I do know my mother.

She was so quiet, so peaceful.  She loved everybody, but most especially, she loved my daddy and my sister and me. 

She knew how to make a meal of Hamburger Helper taste absolutely delicious.  She could decorate the most beautiful birthday cakes.  She loved cherry Coke from Sonic.  “Extra cherries and extra ice please.”

She knew how to make beautiful quilts.  She taught me how to crochet.  She tried to teach me how to sew, but I didn’t do so well at that.

She may not have been the best housekeeper, but she was absolutely the best mother.  She was always there to listen to me.  She always believed in me.  She was always there, no matter what I did wrong.

We were able to laugh together and cry together.  We had lots of “giggle fits” especially late at night.  We liked shopping together, which is not all that much.  She was my very first “girlfriend” and my very best friend, and I will always cherish that.

I miss my mom.  I miss my hero.

And STOP.

Uncategorized