How can an introvert be brave for God?

I’m an introvert. 

That may come as a shock to some of my friends, but really, I am.  I can force myself to be “extroverted” at times, but then I go through long periods of really not wanting to be around anyone at all.

On a really bad day, I don’t even want to leave the house so I don’t have to talk to anyone.

And yet, I’ve always wanted to be a missionary. 

So the question that’s been rolling around in my head is, how can an introvert be useful to God?  How can someone who has trouble talking to people be brave enough to share their faith with others? 

How does 2 Timothy 1:7 apply to me?

For God has not given us a spirit of fear and timidity, but of power, love, and self-discipline.

 

 Maybe I should look further into that chapter.  Verse 8 starts off like this:

So never be ashamed to tell others about our Lord.

Is that it?  Am I ashamed?  I don’t think I am.  Continuing on into the verse, it says this:

 And don’t be ashamed of me, either, even though I’m in prison for him. With the strength God gives you, be ready to suffer with me for the sake of the Good News.

I’m not certain, but maybe verse 8 applies directly to Timothy.

But continuing on to verse 14, the Bible says this:

 Through the power of the Holy Spirit who lives within us, carefully guard the precious truth that has been entrusted to you.

 Is that it?  Do I need to guard the truth? 

I’m still struggling with this question.  I don’t know the answer.  Hopefully, prayerfully, God will grant me the courage to be brave for Him.

Until then,
Hugs,
Melinda

