I’m back

So, you might have noticed that I haven’t posted in a while.  Turns out I needed a longer break than I anticipated.  After some shin splint pain that didn’t feel quite “right,” I went to the doctor instead of just the chiropractor.  Turns out I had an “overuse” injury.  I trained too fast, too soon, and I had to stop. 

No running for 4 weeks. 

I could bike and walk the dog, but no running. 

And I’ve hated every minute of it.  Almost.

The part that I hated was the fact that I couldn’t run the Plaza 10K.  It’s disappointing, you know?  To train and psych yourself up and then not be able to do what you know you could do if your body wasn’t resisting the work…. 

Oh well.

Like I’ve told several people, I’m going to be ready for the race next year.  Like I told the doctor, I’m disappointed, but not discouraged.  I’m not going to give up, but I am upset that I have to stop for a bit.

One and a half weeks to go!

Ugh.
Hugs,
Melinda

