It’s time for a break.

Well, not really.

I’m taking a break from running.  Just for part of the week. 

According to my chiropractor, I have one leg that is shorter than the other one.  My theory is that when I run, I basically hammer my ankle on my leg, which puts my leg and ankle out of alignment, which ends up hurting like crazy.  So I’m at the point that I either rest or go get adjusted.

And then there’s the whole splinter in my heel that no one can see but I can feel.

And why am I feeling nauseated at night?

And I’m trying not to freak out that I have a 10K in 31 days.

I’m saying all this, because running is totally a mind game.

No, I’m not the strongest out there.  No, I’m not the fastest out there.  Heck, I may even be the slowest!  And I’m not giving up.  I’m just….

Resting.

The dictionary defines rest as

1.  Cessation of work, exertion, or activity.
2.  Peace, ease, or refreshment resulting from sleep or the cessation of an activity.
3.  Sleep or quiet relaxation.
4.  The repose of death: eternal rest.
5.  Relief or freedom from disquiet or disturbance.
6.  Mental or emotional tranquility.
7.  Termination or absence of motion.
8.  Music
   a.  An interval of silence corresponding to one of the possible time values within a measure.
   b.  The mark or symbol indicating such a pause and its length.
9.  A short pause in a line of poetry; a caesura.
10.  A device used as a support: a back rest.

Well, I’m pretty sure I’m not looking for #4.  But more #1 and #6.

Rest is good for the soul, good for the mind.  It gives you a chance to recharge and refocus.  I mean, that’s the whole purpose behind our “off” weeks of school. 

My hope, my prayer is that this week of rest will help me to become a better teacher and a stronger runner.

Or at least more focused.

Hugs,
Melinda

32 Days Until Race Day!

