I can fly!

I can’t believe I forgot to write about this.  I guess I was so excited that blogging simply slipped my mind.

I can fly!

Well, not really.  But when I ran on Tuesday, it felt like I was flying.  I did great and felt fantastic! 

The first thing that happened was that I ran a mile in 10:30.  Ten minutes!  I can’t believe it.  After struggling for so long to maintain a 14 minute pace, 10:30 felt fantastic.

The second thing that happened was that I broke a personal record.  When I ran my first 5K in April, I ran it at 43 minutes.  When I ran my second one in May, I ran it at 41 minutes.  Most of my training has been between 45 and 55 minutes.  Tuesday… I ran a 5K in 36:22. 

WHAT?  Oh my goodness.  I can’t believe it.  I simply can’t believe it.  I have no idea how I did it.  I maintained an 11:45 pace for the whole run.  I think that was the best run I have ever had.

I don’t know if I’m going to be able to repeat it anytime soon, but I know I will hold that memory for a very long time.

Hugs,
Melinda

Days without soda: 0
Bike miles: 16.04
Running miles: 28 (I think)

36 days left till race day!

