Yes!!

I have to post this because I am so stinking proud of myself.

I’ve been recovering from shin splints the past week, and I have HATED not being outside running when I could.  I got up this morning determined to run.

And it was raining.

So I went downstairs and got on the “dreadmill.”  Did some HITT work.  Stopped and stretched when it felt tight.  I ended up running a mile in 19+ minutes.  It was awful.

I didn’t want to risk hurting myself again, so I quit and came back upstairs.  After about an hour, I realized it wasn’t raining anymore.  Not only that, it was really nice and cool outside.

So I decided to try again.

I mainly just run around my block.  2 1/2 laps is a mile.  The backside of the block has a nice little hill.  I have been running 3 of the 4 sides of the block and walking up the hill.  I leave my water bottle on a low wall, and slow down and stop when I pass the water bottle.

I didn’t stop.

I was able to run part way up the hill.

I walked when I needed to.  I wasn’t in a lot of pain (although there is a little).

And I kept going.

And I beat myself!  I got a personal best!

After months of having 15 minute miles and have a 19 minute mile earlier this morning, this was FABULOUS!  I am so proud of myself.

I have to laugh because when I was telling Dale about it, I told him I “only” went a mile this morning.  (Not counting the mile on the dreadmill.)  But the reason I laugh is because in February and March, I would have been THRILLED to run a full mile.  How far I’ve come!  : D

Happy running!
Hugs,
Melinda

Days without soda: 0
Bike miles: 16.04
Running miles: 17.3

44 days left til race day!

