What I’ve learned this morning.

First things first….

59 days til the race!

Okay, now that’s out of the way.  *whew*

So, I meant to write this post about an hour ago, but as luck would have it, I got distracted.  (Squirrel!)

I am not a morning person at all.  Let me sleep as long as possible, please.  But you need to stay up til midnight?  I’m your gal.

I have to run in the mornings.  I don’t like the mornings, but I like running in the heat and humidity even less, so I run in the mornings.

Dale decided that he wanted to try “Barefoot Running” today.  And of course, he wanted me to go with him and he didn’t want to run on the road but on a track.  I don’t blame him.  I wouldn’t want to run barefoot on our road either.

Lesson #1:  I think I like running on our road because it takes so much time to drive anywhere that it’s not hardly worth it.

Lesson #2: I think I have to run for myself and not for anyone else.  If Dale wants to run, fine.  Barefoot, fine.  At the track, fine.  I have to run for me, the way I want/need to.

So, Dale ran a couple of laps, and then developed a blister on his toe, which of course meant he wanted to leave.  We got home, and I woke Boo up.

We’ve all had colds this past week and a half.  This was our first day of running since last week.  Today’s run for both Boo and myself were supposed to be easy no pressure runs.  I told her she could walk when needed, to take it easy.

Lesson #3: It takes a long time to recover your fitness level after being sick.

We have a neighbor around the corner who likes to walk his dogs around the same time we run.

Lesson #4: I can be friendly without stopping to chat, because I need to maintain my pace.

We’ve also been playing in our garden.  I planted basil.  A LOT of basil.  I don’t know why I planted so much, but I’ve been able to get almost 4 cups every time I go out to my garden (about twice a week).  So, I give it away, I use it, and I dry it.

Did you know you can microwave your basil to dry it?  You put it between two sheets of paper towels and zap it a minute at a time.  Usually 2-3 minutes does the trick.  You can also dry it in the oven.

Lesson #5: Microwave dried basil looks a whole lot prettier than oven dried basil.

Well, it’s time for recess now.  The girls have gone upstairs to play.  I think I’m going to try to catch a 10 minute nap.  Getting up early has made me sleepy.

I’ve always maintained that you can learn anything at anytime.  It’s when you stop learning that you need to watch out for.  And I hope that in homeschooling my daughters, that they learn to love learning as well.  Remember, the only stupid question is the unasked one.

Hugs,
Melinda

Last soda drunk: 7/12/13
Bike Ride: 8.04
Running: 2.24

59 days til race day!

