Love Never Dies

I am what some people would call a “Phan” of Phantom of the Opera.  I fell in love with the music from Andrew Lloyd Webber’s stage musical when I was in 7th grade.  I remember because I discovered it at a sleepover for our 7th grade Bible class with Ms. Mona Garner.  I also was introduced to the Claude Raines movie at the same time.

I LOVED the music.  I would listen for hours and hours on end.  I read the book by Gaston Leroux.  I read the companion book by Susan Kay.  I bought everything I could get my hands on that related to Phantom of the Opera.  I wrote my own fan fiction (which I can’t find at all now).  😦  I even found the unofficial “third” book called The Phantom of Manhattan. I knew that they had planned a movie and a possible sequel back in the late 80s, early 90s.

And when the musical came to Little Rock, I took my daddy to the show.  Except I learned as we were there, that it wasn’t Sir Webber’s version, but the Ken Hill version.  Oh well.  🙂  (Interesting sidenote: Ken Hill’s version is one of the only ones that features the mirror chamber.)

And I first fell in love with a boy who loved Phantom.  For all practical purposes, I became interested in musical theater, and theater in general, because of the Phantom.  I suppose at one point, I thought I was going to be the next Christine.

All that to say that when I found out that Sir Webber was producing the sequel called “Love Never Dies,” I was very excited to see what it would look and sound like.  Unfortunately, as is the way when you are dirt broke, you have to wait until something like that becomes affordable before you can participate.  Last year for my birthday, Dale took me to the one night movie event.

I wasn’t sure what to think.  It all sounded so…. similar?  I don’t know if I can even adequately describe it.  Dale doesn’t like it.  But it was haunting.  It stayed with me.  I ended up purchasing the CD and listening to it over and over again.  And it became more distinct.  It became more real, more in depth.

So this year for my birthday, I purchased the movie on iTunes.

I have to say… if you want to know what I was like, what I looked like, what I felt when I was a teenager, then you should watch this movie.  Some people have criticized it for having too many plot holes.  I disagree.  To me, it is so natural from where my thoughts and feelings went as a teenager.  It is a natural extension to me of the story.  (I also think those critics probably haven’t read the novels completely.  The major “hole” is actually a very distinct possibility.)

I’m not sure where I’m going with this post, other than I really like this show, the more I watch it.  It’s taken time for it to get into my soul like Phantom of the Opera did, but it really has.  The depth of feeling, the anguish, the turmoil, the romance, the drama is so rich and so developed.  I keep finding it amazing.

Thank you, Andrew Lloyd Webber for bringing my teenage heart to the front of my memories again.

Hugs,
Melinda

P.S.  I’ve also seen the TV mini series, Phantom with Charles Dance.  It seems to borrow heavily from Yeston and Kopit’s version, which I also have the music for.  Like I said, I’m a “Phan.”

Uncategorized