The view from my treadmill

I’m running a 5K.  This 5K in particular.  I have 24 days left, and I’m scared that I’m not going to be ready.  I’ve been trying to motivate myself, because quite honestly, it’s not easy to run if you’ve never really been an athlete before.  So I wrote this on Little Bit’s easel downstairs.  This is the view from my treadmill.  (Can you see the smiles that the girls left in the chalk dust?)
My new mantra is “Anything through Christ” and anytime I’m running, you’ll hear me saying “In Christ” or “God give me strength” or any variation of that.  It comes straight from Philippians 4:13.  I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.
But imagine how inspiring it is to be running, looking at this, and listening to Mandisa sing Stronger all at the same time.  Here’s the lyrics:

Hey, heard you were up all night
Thinking about how your world ain’t right
And you wonder if things will ever get better
And you’re asking why is it always raining on you
When all you want is just a little good news
Instead of standing there stuck out in the weather
Oh, don’t hang your head
It’s gonna end
God’s right there
Even if it’s hard to see Him
I promise you that He still cares  

[Chorus:]When the waves are taking you under
Hold on just a little bit longer
He knows that this is gonna make you stronger, stronger
The pain ain’t gonna last forever
And things can only get better
Believe me
This is gonna make you stronger
Gonna make you stronger, stronger, stronger
Believe me, this is gonna make you Stronger
Try and do the best you can
Hold on and let Him hold your hand
And go on and fall into the arms of Jesus
Oh, lift your head it’s gonna end
God’s right there
Even when you just can’t feel Him
I promise you that He still cares  

[Chorus]  

‘Cause if He started this work in your life
He will be faithful to complete it
If only you believe it
He knows how much it hurts
And I’m sure that He’s gonna help you get through this  

When the waves are taking you under
Hold on just a little bit longer
He knows that this is gonna make you stronger, stronger
The pain ain’t gonna last forever
In time it’s gonna get better
Believe me
This is gonna make you stronger

When I get to that last part, my heart just soars.  “He knows how much it hurts And I’m sure that He’s gonna help you get through this!”  It’s a promise.  Just like Philippians 4:13.  “I can do all things {including a 5k} through Christ who strengthens me!”
The rest of this post is just for fun.  I thought you might like my playlist.  I recently just changed it around.  This first one is what my playlist used to be.
  1. Desert Rose by Sting
  2. Kiss Me by Sixpence None the Richer (It’s a good time to stretch.)
  3. Eye of the Tiger by Survivor (seriously, who ISN’T pumped up by this song?)
  4. Smooth by Santana and Rob Thomas
  5. Hotel California by the Eagles
  6. Living in the Moment by Jason Mraz
  7. I’m Gonna Be (500 Miles) by The Proclaimers
  8. Dust In the Wind by Kansas (I’m usually winding down by this time)
  9. Superman (It’s Not Easy) by Five for Fighting (the last two are good cool down songs)
This second playlist is what I just changed it to this past week.  And if you haven’t checked out Mandisa’s Remixed album, I HIGHLY recommend it.  It just makes me want to dance.
 
  1. Good Morning (Capital Kings Remix) by Mandisa
  2. Kiss Me by Sixpence None the Richer (It’s a really good stretching song.)
  3. Eye of the Tiger by Survivor (It just makes me in the right mind set for running.)
  4. Stronger (Movin’ Remix) by Mandisa
  5. Only the World (Switch Remix) by Mandisa
  6. Shackles (Switch Remix) by Mandisa
  7. My Deliverer (RawlsCO Latin Remix) by Mandisa
  8. Freedom Song by Mandisa
  9. Dance Dance Dance by Mandisa (See a theme yet?)
  10. What If We Were Real by Mandisa
  11. Waiting for Tomorrow by Mandisa 
At this point, if I’m still going, then I go into the first playlist.  I hope you enjoy the music.  And remember…  All things through Christ.
 
Hugs,
Melinda
One thought on “The view from my treadmill

Comments are closed.