Learning Styles

Wednesdays are our library day. We have a wonderful library system that actually has a program for home schoolers! Yesterday was the first program of the school year.

Now before, Sweet Pea and Little Bit would go, and I would sit and listen. Not yesterday. Sweet Pea has decided she’s too old for the programs. So she got to look at books and talk to a friend. I decided to go look for my own books, something I don’t do very often. I don’t have time to read anymore!

(There is a point to all that. Stick with me now.) Yesterday, I picked up a book called Talkers, Watchers, & Doers by Cheri Fuller. I have been struggling with Little Bit. I have been trying not to say it’s ADHD, because I don’t think that’s it. And it occurred to me that she might have a different learning style than Sweet Pea.

Do you know about learning styles? There are three basic styles: visual, auditory, and kinesthetic. Or: talkers, watchers, and doers. I have always known that I was visual. I just knew I was visual, because I have always loved to read. And I’m almost certain that Little Bit is auditory because she loves to talk. (lol)

So one of the first things that this book suggests is to not impose your learning style on your child and oh, here’s a checklist of learning styles so you can check what yours is. Imagine my surprise in reading this checklist and seeing that I’m not only visual, but also auditory, and possibly even kinesthetic.

I’m not very far into this book yet, so I’ll let you know what else I discover. I think it’s going to be very interesting.

Hugs,
Melinda

