My bicycle

I have a new bicycle.  She’s so pretty.  She’s a little pinkish purple Trek Navigator 2.0.   She’s the most expensive bike I’ve ever owned, but she’s a sweet ride.  I can go 4 miles on her without feeling a thing.  She makes riding fun.  I’ve started calling her “Navi.”  Dale says that owning this bike makes me a “Trekkie.”

I fell off my bike.  So when I say that, there are probably several questions that pop into your head.  (I know, cause they popped into mine.)  1) Are you okay? 2) Where? When? How? 3) What where you doing on a bicycle in the first place?

Yes, I’m okay, other than a very large ugly purple bruise right in my stomach.  I must have caught the handlebar in my stomach when I fell.  I also have some other bruises, but they are hardly worth mentioning.  I did not, however, break anything, and for that, I have thanked God over and over.  Dale did make me go to the doctor on Tuesday and get checked out.  They sent me for an ultrasound on Wednesday to make sure that the bruise was just a bruise and not internal bleeding.  It’s just a bruise.

Where was on the Little Blue Trace Trail. It’s a good trail to ride on.  Except this one spot that crosses a railroad track and is at a weird angle and fairly steep.  We were riding as a family on Memorial Day.  And how?  Well, I’m still a little unsure as to how, but I know that I took the turn too sharp.   (If you follow this link, I think I fell by #1.  We started the day at #5)

As far as to the what I was doing in the first place, we’ve been riding as a family.  It’s a lot of fun.  We get out, we spend time together, we’re getting exercise, we’re having fun.  Bicycling has surprised me as being an exercise I really enjoy, which always means you’re going to do it more.

The odd part has been all the lessons I’ve learned in the process of being “injured.”  One, falling when you are 36 hurts a whole heck of a lot more than when you’re 15.  And surprisingly, more people seem to be worried about you when you are 36.  Two, even “bruises” can hurt bad enough to slow you down.  Three, I feel the need to be stronger in case this happens again.  Four, the “jiggle” in my belly is what hurts worse than anything.  Five, if you are hurt, you need to slow down and allow yourself to heal.  Six, you will still need to hop up and get back on if you can.

And that’s what it really comes down to.  When you fall down, you have to hop back up and get back on.

Thank you God, for protecting me and my family.  Help us to enjoy the beauty of your world from our bicycles.

Hugs,
Melinda

One thought on “My bicycle

  1. Railroad tracks can be tough. I cross them in a couple of places on my regular ride to work, and I always try to hit them at 90 degrees, especially if it's been raining or cold. Hope you're back on the bike soon!

    Like

Comments are closed.