Things to consider when getting a dog

I’ve talked about Nana before, and I’m going to post a picture in just a minute. Nana is a good dog. Nana is a BIG dog.

Nana is my first dog.
Well, sort of. We had an Old English Sheepdog when I was growing up, but she was an outside dog, and I don’t think we took as good a care of her as she needed/deserved. I don’t really remember much about her. Feel free to ask me about Sugar sometime.
Nana is the first dog that I’ve owned.
There are several things that they forget to tell you when you purchase a dog (and I’m using they as a generic term referencing vets, friends with dogs, shelters, pet stores, and anyone who should know to tell you these things). Such as… “Dogs have fur. Their fur in the winter is considerably MORE than their fur in the summer. Expect a lot of this fur to come off in the spring.”
Or how about this one? “Big dog = Big poop = BIG smell.” Or shoot, they even forget to tell you what to do with the poop once you’ve picked it up. Or that dogs fart. :S
Let’s see, what else. Oh, there’s “all dogs like to chew, so make sure you don’t leave your good footwear out.” To which I would add, “or comfortable footwear, either.”
There’s this classic line they forgot to tell me. “You need to invest in a tennis ball factory. And a dog food factory.”
They absolutely forget to tell you that training can be valuable and fun. But then, they also forgot to tell me that my 5 year old wouldn’t really understand it.
Oh, we now know about dog naps (as opposed to cat naps, which we already knew about). But they forgot to tell me how much having a dog is like having a toddler sometimes. That’s the one they really shouldn’t have forgotten to tell me. lol
But I think the most important thing they forgot to tell me is how much I would love this dog. How much she smiles (and yes, Nana smiles). How much joy she has brought to my life. No, she’s not one of my kids, but she really has added to our family, and I thank God that we waited for her. She’s perfect for us.
Hugs from our pound,
Melinda
P.S. As a little side note, we rescued Nana from an animal shelter. If you are considering getting an animal, please check your local shelter first. You’ll never know what gems you’ll find there. And in most cases, the cost from a shelter is considerably less than a purebred.
2 thoughts on “Things to consider when getting a dog

  1. I love this! I am so glad getting a dog has turned out so well for you. Except the shoes. I'm sorry about the shoes. I have had so many pairs destroyed by dogs, it should have been in the front of my mind.
    Yes, kudos on the shelter plug. There are so many pets out there in shelters and rescue groups. They all just want someone to love. All my pets, except one, were rescued. And all my pets are truly wonderful and a joy to be around. Each one has his/her unique personality. And people should spay or neuter their dogs and cats. There are too many pets who don't have homes. Too many are killed just because there is not enough room for them all. There is no need for the many breeders out there. They just add to the problem; increase the numbers of pets who need homes. It should be regulated by the American Kennel Association. Breeding should not be a way for someone to make money. It should only happen to preserve and maintain a certain breed. It's all just a sad business. I can't think on it too much or it creates so much anxiety for me.
    I look forward to the next blog entry!

    Like

  2. My big old thug-of-a-dog has probably cost me more in things that he's chewed up than in dog food. He's a big old stupid dog, but I love him anyway. Besides….who else would eat all of the things I cook that nobody else likes?!

    Like

Comments are closed.