WOW!

Wow, time has flown. This has been a busy busy time in my life. Quite frankly, I get wrapped up in Facebook and forget to post here.

But there have been some changes in my life. What some would consider “Big” changes. And I feel the need to post again. I’m going to attempt some sort of a diary dialog in order to get my thoughts organized.
Let’s start with
December 24, 2010

Wow. Dale and I were talking about finances. Again. And again, I told him that I didn’t think the one customer of Propel IT Systems was worth it, that they were taking advantage of his good guy nature, and that he was worth more, a lot more, than he is currently making. He showed me an email he received. It’s from an ITT recruiter. They want him to submit a resume.

December 27, 2010

Oh CRAP! Literally. It looks like a pipe has broken and all the sewage is bubbling up out of the ground. The good news is that the ground is frozen. For now. It seems to have stopped. For now. It makes the idea of applying with ITT look more appealing. What harm could there be in submitting a resume? What’s the worse they could do? Say no?

January 4, 2011

Dale had a phone interview today. It was a technical interview to see if he knew all the stuff he said he knew in his resume. Not only did the person tell him he had one of the highest scores he’s ever seen, he did a second test for a security position, and made something like a 74% on that one, without even trying! LOL He’s so smart. If he studied, I know he’d get the certifications he needs for that job, too.

January 10, 2011

Dale’s application was denied? Well, sort of. It was more of a miscommunication. The technical testing interviewer somehow sent the application for the security position, not the system admin job that Dale applied for. It’s all been worked out. If I could only get Dale to calm down and stop bugging the guy. God’s going to take care of it. God has always taken care of us.

January 14, 2011

Oh, this is a good one. They are trying to decide which job to offer him. He doesn’t have the necessary qualifications for the one, but he’s close. Real close. And it seems like a tailor made position for him. The funny thing is that I don’t think he’s ever considered something like it before. Now we just have to wait out the weekend to see what the decision is.

January 17, 2011

Dale was offered a position. He was offered a System Administrator position. I think it’s alright for me to say it’s in Afghanistan, but I won’t say more than that. He will be supporting our troops. I don’t want to endanger them, or him.
The rest is basically a blur of paperwork, certifications, medical records, dental exams, and wish lists. And snow. Lots of snow. I do know that he got a call on January 29 asking what he thought about leaving on February 12 for the training in country. Which was a heck of a lot sooner than either of us imagined. We were thinking the end of February or the beginning of March.
February 5, 2011

Dale and I have been talking dogs. I mentioned that I was thinking about getting a dog instead of a fancy security system. Dale said he would be fine with both. So we started looking. I woke up this morning thinking of names for one we had found earlier this week. Dale said, “let’s look a little more.” I’m glad he did. We found Nana in a different shelter. She’s PERFECT!

February 10, 2011

Tomorrow. Tomorrow is the day I don’t want to come. He leaves tomorrow. We were going to have date night, but instead decided to have family night. It was a good choice I think. Neither one of us can sleep. Instead, we talk into the wee hours of the night.

February 11, 2011

AM: Not so very happy birthday Dale. I didn’t make it out of the airport like I wanted. I wanted to make it to the car before I started sobbing. I didn’t get that far. Sweet Pea held onto me, and I held onto her. Thankfully, Little Bit doesn’t really understand yet. One question keeps running through my brain. Are we out of our ever loving minds for doing this? We have GOT to be crazy. How on earth am I going to do this again?

PM: Obedience class for Nana. She is stronger than she looks! Please, dear trainer Karen. Please don’t tell us we have to come to private lessons instead. She will calm down. I promise?

February 13

We had tears in church this morning. Going on.

February 14

We went to Pizza Street with some of our homeschool friends. When will my children learn to think before speaking? Especially when the words they use could hurt someone! Both of them said things that they shouldn’t have. Both of them hurt other people.

But at least I didn’t lose my cool. I think we… or at least I had a growing experience as a parent today.

Okay, I know that this is a really long post. If you’ve stuck with me this far, thanks. My plan is to try to write more often. I want to detail this new adventure.
One: I’ve never really had a dog before. My family did have an Old English Sheepdog when I was younger, but looking back, I don’t think we took good care of her.
Two: I’ve got to talk about my feelings about Dale being gone again.
So, I’m going to go do a post for today, maybe include a picture, and then I’ll sign off. Thanks for walking through me with this.
Psalm 46:10 “Be still and know that I am God. I will be honored by every nation. I will be honored throughout the world.” Even Afghanistan.
Hugs,
Melinda
