I’m a big girl now

I hate going to the dentist. I have ever since I was little. My jaw is too small and to make room for my adult teeth, I had to have my baby teeth removed at the dentist's office. Some of my earliest memories are of having the laughing gas mask on my face.

I had to have a tooth removed today. Thanks to an inadequate filling from my childhood and an inability to get a replacement filling from the dentist in Georgia, I ended up with a very bad tooth. My new dentist pretty much said root canal or pull it. I opted to pull it.

I have been nervous about going. One of the parts I dislike is the injections of Novocain. It seems like no matter how much topical anesthetic they put on, the injection still hurts. But I really did not want to pay for IV sedation to get one tooth out. I thought if I really needed it, I would ask for the nitrous oxide.

I am happy to report that despite the dentist telling me I was a 6 or 7 on the nervous scale, despite the fact that he used something called a bulldog, and despite the fact that he was pulling so hard my head was moving back and forth, I did not ask for laughing gas.

I'm a big girl now.

Hugs,
Melinda

Sent from my iPod

One thought on “I’m a big girl now

Comments are closed.