On Homeschooling

This is our second year to homeschool. I love it. I really do. Sweet Pea is at an age where she (usually) comprehends what I’m trying to teach. We went with Switched On Schoolhouse for this year, and so far, it’s been wonderful. It can be a bit particular with answers, but I think that’s okay. I think she needs to learn that discipline.

Little Bit on the other hand….. Whew, it’s been a ride already. I had been debating and second guessing myself it seems like every time I turn around. I had really thought, as late as May that I needed to send her to public school to Kindergarten, so that she could “learn how to learn.” But I would sit there and have honest to goodness struggles with myself. Turns out, so did Dale. So we decided to homeschool instead.
Now, every time I sit down with her at the table, she’s wiggling or goofing around or I don’t know. But it’s been enough to really frustrate me and drive me bonkers and make me wonder if I shouldn’t go ahead and send her on to public school. But in my heart of hearts, I knew I didn’t really want to do that.
So… Dale and I made the decision and talked with someone last night. We filled out an application and paid an enrollment fee, and as of last night, Little Bit is enrolled in our church’s preschool program for the year. Amazingly, I feel a HUGE burden lifted off of my shoulders. Their philosophy is very similar to what I wanted in that they will be teaching her the process of learning. She will get to be with other children twice a week. And… I don’t have to teach her all by myself. Someone else will be there to help me!
I’m amazed at how much better I feel about this school year already.
Hugs,
Melinda
