"The Help" by Kathryn Stockett

This was a very interesting book. This was one of the most interesting books I have read in a long time. I had trouble putting it down.

Okay, let’s get started. The Help by Kathryn Stockett is set in the middle of the Civil Rights era in mid Mississippi, in the middle of the 60s. Ms. Stockett does a wonderful job in exploring the mindset of that age. I found it really interesting how peculiar the white people in this book think. Especially regarding colored people and diseases. I really found myself wondering if people back then were really that stupid in their thinking.
It was also interesting the love that the maids had for the children they cared for. They took care of and trained these children, doing the job that the mothers should have done. Their payment: more prejudice.
Ms. Stockett takes a tremendously touchy subject and treats it with the respect and humanity it deserves. I really enjoyed this book and felt like I learned a valuable lesson in the process. Treat others, regardless of skin tone, the way you want to be treated.
Hugs,
Melinda
3 thoughts on “"The Help" by Kathryn Stockett

  1. We listened to that book on cd. It was interesting. I have an even harder time with it, I think, because I am not from the south. I was not raised near prejudices this strong. Tim and I have talked a lot about that.

    Like

  2. We had occasional help when I was growing up in Texas…usually with laundry/ironing. My parents and grandparents always provided cold drinks, food, and allowed them to use the bathroom when needed…and it was a shock to me years later when I realized that was not the case many times. I'm thankful for the example I saw at home!

    Like

Comments are closed.