Works for Me Wednesday: Lump free gravy


So, after a L-O-N-G break from Works for Me Wednesday, the carnival hosted by Shannon where bloggers from all over blogosphere get together and share the tips that work for them, I decided to share my secrets for how I make perfect lump free cream gravy.

And no, it’s not canned. I actually got the technique from my Betty Crocker cookbook.

Tip #1: Invest in a good whisk. It’s so much easier than a wooden spoon or fork.

Tip #2: Remember your proportions. 2 Tbsp fat, 2 Tbsp flour, 1 cup liquid. For cream gravy, this is 2 tbsp butter or margarine, 2 Tbsp Flour, 1 cup milk. For brown gravy it would be 2 tbsp fat drippings, 2 tbsp flour, 1 cup beef broth or other appropriate liquid.

Tip #3: And this is one of the biggest secrets. When you get ready to make your gravy, put your liquid in the freezer and get it REALLY cold. I have pulled milk out with a ring of milk crystals. It works people!

So….. Put your butter in the pan and melt it on medium high heat. When it is bubbling, whisk in your flour. This mixture is called Roux. When that is bubbling (it sort of looks like pancake batter. Sort of.), then pull your milk out of the freezer and slowly and completely whisk that into your roux. If you are using a whisk, you are almost guaranteed lump free gravy. You almost have to boil this for about a minute to get your gravy.

Now, here is the twist. You sort of have to watch it at this point. You don’t want it too thin, but if it boils too long, it will get too thick and be like glue. Remove it from the heat when it is the consistency you like.

Personally, I don’t add salt or pepper when I’m making my gravy. My husband doesn’t like salt, and I don’t like pepper. But if you add nutmeg when you’re cooking, this makes the basic bechamel sauce in a lot of Italian dishes.

And that’s all of my secrets to a perfect lump free cream gravy. Serve over biscuits, toast, whatever your imagination desires. 😀

Hugs,
Melinda

Uncategorized

3 thoughts on “Works for Me Wednesday: Lump free gravy

  1. Really? It’s that easy? I have just been trying to learn how to make gravy within the last year. I’ve had some pretty good successes but not consistent. I know how to make a roux – but then the liquids were a guessing game.This is a great tip! I’m making gravy tonight 🙂Come by my place today to see how you can < HREF="http://ttelroc.blogspot.com/2008/10/wfmw-holiday-control-journal.html" REL="nofollow">Cruise through the Holidays<>, in my WFMW.Have a Great Day!Kristin

    Like

Comments are closed.