Menu


Morning. So I’m trying for a second week at Menu Plan Monday. And after this, I’m going to try actually posting regular posts again. LOL Again, I post lunches first, then dinner.
Monday: Fishsticks, Sandwiches
Tuesday: French Toast, Chicken Alfredo
Wednesday: Hamburger Helper, Cornbread Casserole
Thursday: Sandwiches, Chicken Soup Casserole
Friday: Leftovers, Grilled Cheese
Saturday: Mac&Cheese, Buttered Rice

So, there are a couple of recipes I need to post. The first is for Cornbread Casserole, a recipe my mom got from my grandpa. The second is for what we call Chicken Soup Casserole. It’s a combination of 2 recipes that my SIL gave me, that I had to combine when my BIL came for a visit. Feel free to make these. Let me know if you enjoy them.

Cornbread Casserole
1 pound (or so) of browned ground beef (I also add a teaspoon or so of chopped garlic to the meat while I’m cooking it.)
1 jar of spaghetti sauce or 1 can of tomato sauce and 1 can of tomato paste
1 can of corn (OPTIONAL)
velveeta, cubed (add as much or as little as you want)
chili seasoning to taste (OPTIONAL)
1 box cornbread mix, made according to directions (I prefer Jiffy brand)

Mix the meat, sauce, corn, cheese, seasoning and put in casserole dish. Add cornbread to top of meat mixture. Cook at temperature on cornbread directions until cornbread is dark golden brown, approximately 30 minutes.

Chicken Soup Casserole
4-6 boneless skinless chicken breasts, cooked, and shredded into bite size pieces
1 stick butter or margarine
1 8oz carton of sour cream
1 8oz package of cream cheese
1 can of cream of chicken soup (could use cream of mushroom)
1 teaspoon of garlic (optional)
1 tube of refrigerated crescent rolls
1 stick of butter/margarine
1 stack of Ritz crackers, crushed

Melt the 1st stick of butter, sour cream, cream cheese, soup, and garlic in a saucepan on medium heat and stir together. Place chicken in a largish casserole dish (I use a 15×11 (?) Pampered Chef dish.) Pour the soup mixture over the chicken. Layer the crescent rolls over the soup/chicken. Melt second stick of butter in saucepan (I use the same one) and add crushed Ritz crackers. Once the crackers are all coated, spread on top of crescent rolls. Cook at temperature of crescent rolls package (350 usually) until rolls are dark golden brown (approximately 30-40 minutes).

Obviously, this one is loaded with calories. We try to have this only when we have company over or for taking to a potluck. I know it can be adapted, you know low calorie butter, no fat cream cheese, etc, but I like this version. Feel free to make it your own, though. I have even added a layer of frozen peas under the crescent rolls. 😀

I hope you like these recipes. Enjoy.
Hugs,
Melinda

4 thoughts on “Menu

  1. Melinda, one of the easiest meals I make ~ actually variety of meals ~ is “Chicken as you like it.” I buy chicken breasts ON SALE (hubby won’t eat dark meat, so that is all I buy…and, of course sons followed dad’s lead), clean them, get all the fat and gristle off as well as tiny slivers of bone that were not noticed in the processing plant. Package them in servings for 4 and freeze. Pop them (don’t even have to defrost) into a skillet that has a little oil in it, cover and turn down heat. The chicken separates in just a few minutes…go ahead and brown both sides. Then (this is the fun part) top with 1 of the following:1. Can of cream of chicken soup, diluted2. Can or rotel tomatoes3. 1/2 to 1 cup barbeque sauce4. onions, peppers, and tomatoes5. 1 cup pineapple juice and splash of soy sauce to tasteCover and cook slowly about 45 minutes. You may need to add extra water. You can always add onion, peppers, and garlic to any of the above. Sometimes just as the chicken is finishing up I toss a bag of mixed stir-fry veggies (check out Kroger for a variety of mixed veggies @ $1.00 a bag)and let the veggies steam about 5 minutes. Hope this gives you some other ideas to help feed your family healthy and cheap.I still miss your mom!Love you,DB

    Like

Comments are closed.