My Mother-In-Law

I have to tell ya…. I’m blessed. Somewhere in my youth, I was told, “you don’t just marry one man, you marry his whole family.” So when I met my DH’s parents for the very first time, I was looking to see if I liked them as much as him.

My MIL is a gem of a lady. She has opened her home up and let us live here while Dale looks for a new job. She works incrediably hard to support herself and one of her other sons. And… she’s a good friend. She’s helped me deal with the loss of my mother in so many ways, just from the lonely feelings to dealing with Daddy’s relationship search.

I’ve been feeling lonely this week since Dale is in KC. MIL works part time in Texarkana, making a trip up there about once every week and a half. She’s going out again tomorrow. The hotel she stays at has an indoor pool. I kind of invited myself and the girls along for the ride, and then told her I was thinking about changing my mind….. My dear bossy MIL basically told me that I was going whether I wanted to or not. And now…. at 12:30 am, I’m actually looking forward to it. Guess I better go to bed soon. 😀

Thank you dear God, for the blessing of my mother in law, and thank you for the wonderful son she raised. Thank you also for the teacher who told me that you marry a whole new family. Thank you for the blessings of my daughters. Please prepare them for marriage, and please prepare their future husbands. Please grant me the wisdom to be a good mother-in-law one day in the future. In Jesus’ Name, Amen

One thought on “My Mother-In-Law

  1. Melinda,You are blessed to have a MIL that you truly LOVE!!! I agree that you marry the whole family, not just the husband! I have been blessed with an AWESOME in-law family as well!!!HugsLaurie

    Like

Comments are closed.